節目

逆流怪傑:波蘭獨立一百年

獨立百年,波蘭走過歷史滄桑;土地 […] 更多

獨立百年,波蘭走過歷史滄桑;土地遭瓜分、國名被湮滅一世紀後,重新屹立於歐洲大地。從納粹屠殺及蘇共極權釋放出來, 「波蘭學派」電影新浪潮在窘困中誕生,華意達《這一代》(1955)等見證歷史、反思時代的經典破繭而出。流着反權威、反專制的抗爭血液,一代電影人的原始創作力在西方自由土壤上更縱情爆發;以特立獨行之姿,在寫實與超現實之間自由穿梭,開創前所未見的風格,影響力更無遠弗屆。

在《這一代》參演的波蘭斯基(1933-),首部編導長片《水中刀》(1962)一鳴驚人;與其後的《冷血驚魂》(1965)、《孤島驚魂》(1966),對人性陰暗心理的獨到描寫、幽閉場景營造的懸疑氣氛,奠定驚慄大師風格,在國際影壇揚名立萬。與他在《水中刀》共同編劇的史高林莫斯基(1938-),在《舉手!》(1967) 遭禁映後另闢蹊徑, 到英倫定居執導《浴室春情》(1970) 、《死神的呼喚》(1978)等巔峰作,以水底波光蕩漾春情、以前衛音效擴散驚慄,匠心手法獨步影壇。

怪傑博羅夫茲克(1923-2006)詭異多變,以動畫揚名,其後改以大膽寫實手法拍攝情色電影,更為驚世駭俗。從怪誕動畫《卡巴先生夫人劇院》(1967)到復古愛情劇《白蘭琪男爵夫人》(1971),其展現的自由風格與獨特美學,足與布烈遜及布紐爾等量齊觀。同樣以影像懾人心魄的素羅斯基(1940-2016),電影中暴烈、色慾與絕望的爆炸力驚人,《着魔》(1981 ) 及《銀色星球》(1988) 兩部奇片令全球影痴目眩神迷,其深入潛意識、召喚靈魂覺醒的魔力,震古爍今。

開天闢地的創意,穿越歷史長河,依然波瀾壯闊。

「逆流怪傑:波蘭獨立一百年」合辦單位

收起

Programme

Marvelous Four: 100 Years of Polish Independence

2018 marks the centenary of the state of Poland regaining its independence. After decades of partitions […] Read more

2018 marks the centenary of the state of Poland regaining its independence. After decades of partitions and serfdom, free Poland was reinstated on the map of the world. Emerging from the historical ordeal, filmmakers who remained unyielding inaugurated The Polish School. Starting with A Generation (1955), the pioneering work from Andrzej Wajda, Poland’s New Wave films stunned the international cinema not just for their historical and political significance, but for their free-spirited visual style and radicalization of the filmic language – strikingly thrived in the European land of liberty.

Roman Polanski (1933-) and the co-screenwriter of his debut feature Knife in the Water (1962), Jerzy Skolimowski (1938-), each in their own way transgressed the traditional methods of narrative building characteristics of their genres. Crafted with mind-blowing symbolism, Repulsion (1965) and Cul-de- sac (1966) break the threshold of psychological thriller and penetrate into the struggle of the human soul, asserting Polanski’s status as a master of world cinema. Whereas Deep End (1970) and The Shout (1978), two of Skolimowski’s finest films made during his exile in England, bespeak his prodigious talents and aesthetic conceptualization – unmatched anywhere else for his intuitive mastery of sound and imagery.

Beginning with experimental animation and transforming into fantasy and eroticism, Walerian Borowczyk’s (1923-2006) ingenuity and artistry is undeniable – comparable to that of Robert Bresson and Luis Buñuel. A surrealist and provocateur, he impressed the world with his cinematic poetry in multifaceted styles, from animated uncanniness in Theatre of Mr. and Mrs. Kabal (1967) to medieval romance in Blanche (1971). Another non-conformist visionary, Andrzej Zuławski’s (1940-2016) approach to storytelling is idiosyncratic and characterized by explosions of violence, sexuality, and despair. Portraying a tragic, shocking and hysterical vision of the world, Possession (1981) and On the Silver Globe (1988) evoke deep thoughts, nerves and senses in every respect that is unparalleled in any cinematic experience.

In an era of value crisis and fading hopes, it’s all the more important to hold on to the enduring creative spirit of these Polish mavericks.

 

Co-presenter of “Marvelous Four: 100 Years of Polish Independence”

Read less