午夜鐘聲

  • 導演: 奧遜威爾斯

  • 西班牙/瑞士, 1965, 116分鐘, DCP, 中文字幕

在權勢和真我之間,我們總會選擇前者,並且不吝說服自己,那才是達成使命。電影天才奧遜威爾斯一直想把莎士比亞筆下那肥胖可笑、卑鄙無恥卻代表生之歡愉的約翰法斯塔夫爵士搬上銀幕,好不容易如願以償,即找來大美人珍摩露飾演酒館妓女,和他一起歌頌生命。不過在鏡頭面前的法斯塔夫並不可笑,因為他一心調教的亨利王子不單背棄了他,也背棄了理想,以至整個英格蘭老好傳統。敘事超越了「無奈明月照溝渠」的感傷;一場以手搖廣角鏡拍攝,只動用不足二百臨記,卻拍出千軍萬馬氣勢的什魯斯伯里戰役,廣為後世傳誦,難怪被奧遜威爾斯自許為畢生最佳作品。

1966 康城影展廿週年大獎及技術大獎

11.11.2018(日):設映後談,講者藤原基斯,英語主講

藤原基斯是影評人及電影節目策劃,曾撰寫並編輯多部電影書籍及發表論文著作。曾於東京大學、耶魯大學及羅德島設計學院等教授電影美學、歷史及評論。於2012至14年間擔任愛丁堡國際電影節藝術總監。

放映:

請注意

1. 除特別註明外,所有非英語對白電影皆設有英文字幕,但不另設中文字幕。

2. 於香港科學館放映之場次:場地不設城巿售票處。城市售票網將於每個節目開始前一小時停止發售門票。場地之臨時售票櫃位於電影開映前30分鐘提供服務,即場發售剩餘門票,只接受現金付款,售完即止。

3. 香港國際電影節協會務必為觀眾全力搜羅影片的最佳原版拷貝放映,但若偶然事與願違,尚祈大家見諒

Falstaff: Chimes at Midnight

  • Dir: Orson Welles

  • Spain/Switzerland, 1965, 116min, DCP

  • Cast: Orson Welles, Jeanne Moreau, Keith Baxter

Welles meets Falstaff. Not just Shakespeare, whose work Welles condensed and transformed but a character whose complexity (and girth) speak through Welles to the moral questions of the Bard’s plays. To whom do we owe our loyalty? And whom will we betray as we move forward? Indeed, Welles’ meditation on the relationship of the dubious Falstaff and maturing Prince Hal must make us think of his own fame and rejection, which included criticism of this very movie. Yet, over time, its reputation has soared with that of Welles himself as critics recognize its cinematic complexity (under dire conditions of Spanish filming), its interplay of sound and image and the power of Welles in a role he was born to play. Finally, both film and auteur are restored to glory.

1966 Cannes Film Festival, 20th Anniversary Prize and Technical Grand Prize

11.11.2018(SUN): Post-screening talk with Chris Fujiwara. Conducted in English

Chris Fujiwara has written and edited several books on cinema, contributed to many anthologies and journals, and lectured widely on the aesthetics, history, and criticism of film. Formerly Artistic Director of Edinburgh International Film Festival, he has also developed film programmes for other institutions.

Screening:

Note

1. Unless otherwise stated, all films (except English-speaking films) are subtitled in English.

2. Screenings at HK Science Museum: There is no URBTIX Outlet at the venue. Tickets are available at URBTIX till one hour prior to respective screenings. Door ticket counter opens 30 minutes before the screening. Limited tickets to non-sold out screenings will be available at the door, subject to availability (Cash Only).

3. While it is the HKIFF’s policy to secure the best possible print of the original version for all its screenings, HKIFF will appreciate its patrons’ understanding on occasions when less than perfect screening copies are screened.